Veerasamy Road receives its present name in 1927, but is much older than that. According to Singapore Street Names1, it was originally called Inche Lane. In 1910, it became known as Jalan Tambah, probably because the road level was increased above the surrounding lands. The word "tambah" means "to increase" or "to add" in Malay. In 1927, Municipal Commissioner Dr K. Kiramathypathy proposed that Jalan Tambah be renamed in honour of Indian community leader, Dr. N. Veerasamy, in recognition to his contribution to the community in the Little India neighbourhood. This was approved, and the road became known as Veerasamy Road.